The Fulbright Program

The Fulbright Program is the largest education exchange program in the world and one of the most prestigious.

About the Fulbright Program

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Fulbright grants support and develop cross-cultural exchange and mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries through education and scholarship. Fulbright scholars are world renowned for their experiences, research, and personal impacts at their respective universities.

The program awards approximately 8,000 grants annually. Roughly 1,600 U.S. students, 4,000 foreign students, 1,200 U.S. scholars, and 900 visiting scholars receive awards, in addition to several hundred teachers and professionals. Approximately 390,000 “Fulbrighters” have participated in the Program since its inception in 1946.

Currently, the Fulbright Program operates in over 160 countries worldwide.


Virtually anyone—faculty, student, or professional staff—can apply to become a Fulbright scholar.

Under the Fulbright Program, competitively selected U.S. citizens receive generous scholarship grants to study, conduct research, or exercise their talents abroad; citizens of other countries may qualify to do the same in the United States.